Reckoning with the Final Tale, The Reckoning

The Reckoning

The Reckoning

Warning: Read The Confession before attempting to read this review as this review  contains several spoilers.

 

I’m not sure but I think we’re all like this: when we start reading a book and get invested in the characters, we have to see the story to the bitter end. I guess that’s why so many people have read all seven Harry Potter books. When I started reading the story of Katie Lapp in The Shunning, I knew I had to see the story to its end. So, after months of waiting to find and buy The Confession and finding first The Reckoning at a local second-hand bookstore, I bought The Confession and rushed to buy The Reckoning too. 

In this final installment of Katie Lapp’s story:

With her mother gone and Mayfield Manor now entirely her own, Katherine Mayfield – also known as Katie Lapp – is finding her footing as a mistress in a fancy “English” mansion with servants to attend her and a wealthy artist boyfriend to keep her company. But, while Katherine is enjoying the life she’s always dreamed of, something just feels out of place. Is the Amish life she grew up in calling her home? Or is there another stronger pull that may lead her down a different path? And what of her mother’s plans for her? Would her mother’s missing diaries show her the path to follow? If only she could find them…

Movie Magic:

With film versions of both The Shunning and The Confession, it was only right that the third and final Beverley Lewis book be made into a movie. The movie is set to air soon though I think South African citizens will still be waiting a while yet before we get to watch any of the 3 movie-versions.

What I would be interested to see is the visual representation of the various “worlds” described in the book. After all, while the Amish world and the “English” world would look wholly different, what about the Menonite world – the world in between? I would be curious to see what each world is meant to look like and how they interact and adapt.

It would also be great to see all the characters that have become so much a part of my imagination in visual form.

In My Humble Opinion:

I have to admit that when I picked up this final installment of the Katie Lapp story, I was keen for another page-turner and was sorely disappointed when I wasn’t engrossed from the very first chapter. The fact is, being a last book, all the loose ends from the other 2 books are now being tied up in this book. All the questions that kept me turning page after page before picking up the next book because I still didn’t have an answer are finally answered. What happened to Katie’s friend, Mary? What became of Bishop John and his family? Did Rebecca Lapp ever get over her unhappiness at losing her only daughter? What of Ella Mae and her family? Does Katie find all she desires from her new life? What of Daniel Fisher – what becomes of him? So many questions and in this final book all the answers are revealed.

Don’t get me wrong though. This book isn’t just a story that panders to all the questions left hanging in the other books. Although I was concerned after getting into the book that that was the case, it isn’t. There are still a few surprises here and there and I did find myself sitting up and feverishly turning the pages at one stage again as I wondered what was about to happen next. Beverley Lewis’ Heritage of Lancaster County collection is a great series, the last of the books giving you that great feeling you have at the end of a really great set of books or a happy ending movie.

The one problem I had with this particular book was the lack of Christian subtlety that was present in all the other books. While the books are Christian novels in genre and I’m perfectly alright with that, I felt Lewis harping on a little about being saved in this one. The subtlety of Christian influence is absent from this book and it did make it sound a little preachy. (Sorry Beverley Lewis but I have to be honest.) I worry that while the first 2 books had a great plot with Christian undertones (which I feel is the way all Christian writing should be: subtly leading people to find out), in this final book, the plot is neglected in favour of tying up loose ends and Christian overtones. (Perhaps though, you feel differently. Let me know in the comments how you felt about the book.)I enjoy a good Christian novel as long as it’s got a great plot to drive the reader through the novel.  But, I’m glad that the plot was still there even if it was a little side-lined by the Christian overtones.

All in all, Beverley Lewis’ The Reckoning is that final piece of the puzzle you need to finish the journey you started with Katie Lapp. A really great end to a really great narrative. Let me know what you think of Lewis’ Heritage of Lancaster County in the comments and I hope you enjoy Katie’s story too.

Happy Reading!

bookish-emoticon

One thought on “Reckoning with the Final Tale, The Reckoning

Leave a Reply

